To Just Be

by Camillus King`ori [my elder brother]

I think almost everyone will agree that the entire universe comes from the same source, created by the same hand. Yet, I have never looked up at the night sky and thought,  ‘You know what would make those stars shine brighter?’ I have never looked at a bonfire and thought about the intricacies of fire, where it comes from, how it works. I am simply happy to watch. I have never looked at a bird and thought, ‘What is your purpose? Why are you doing what you are doing? Maybe you could try that another way!’ I am simply happy to watch it go about its business. I am yet to meet a man who looks at a mountain and goes, ‘…if only it had X, then it would be magnificent.’

If everything in the universe comes from the same source, then it must all be equal. My ego would go as far as to say man is superior to all things in the universe. Why then, do I feel as if I need to be more of one thing and less of another? Why can’t I look at an asshole the same way I look into a fire; I know not to get too close or I’ll get burned and yet I don’t wish the fire were cooler or more controlled. Why can’t I trust that if the birds had a consciousness, they would be happy to simply watch me going about my day without asking why? What next? What is the purpose? Maybe you should try that. Stop doing this. What does this mean?

Why is it I am the only being on the entire universe that is not enough to just be?

 

PS: He talks just like that… ha! 

Leave a Reply

